I can feel it in my knee….

19 10 2011

Winter is coming.. I reflect back and think about winters in the past. I grew up Snowboarding in Ontario back in the late 80’s. Then it wasn’t much of a scene rather a new sport that people didn’t get. As time passed and as popularity grew the scene changes as with all sports. The bottom line was, if you looked good enough and threw down enough sick shit, you’d belong to this new life meme called Snowboarding.

I see this translate to all sorts of sports and now that I am in the bike industry again it’s more clear then ever that it has fallen victim to the same principles. Throw down, drop cliffs, spin or flip as many times as possible. Dare I say it… Extreme!

As I sit here and type, my subconscious is already planning today’s ride. It’s not extreme by any means but really, anything is as hard as you make it. Ride faster, corner harder, find new lines, ride cleaner.

I want to ride for the rest of my life and there comes a point when you decide to drop the scene and just do something because you love it. The bicycle is one of the most amazing of machines whether it be a DH rig or a grocery getter. It’s like an old friend you rely on. We count on our gear a whole lot and whenever I finish a ride unscathed I look at my rig and smile.

We all need to drop the attitude. Who cares if you’re an XC racer, free rider like me or a DH’er (sorry if I forgot about your category) we are all on two wheels let’s take that for what it is. We are all cyclists no matter what the discipline or what you’re wearing.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

