The year gone by…

1 11 2011

I know, I know. It’s not January 1st. We’re not starting another new year or anything but 1 year ago today, my lovely fiancee and I landed in Calgary from London and concluded what would be a pretty amazing trip to Spain / Morocco. I also turned 40. I moved from the Coast to the Rockies, I met my future wife and mother of my children. I changed careers.  I grew my hair. I am in the best shape of my life.

Travelling was kind of the start of my new life direction, or lack there of if you wish. I left a pretty good IT career to go travelling and while we were out and about I was able to see things a little differently.

We, humans, don’t really need much to live. Food and shelter are a given. Having family and a partner that loves you is a bonus. Of course a job is handy so you can pay for the above or share it if point number 3 applies. Anything beyond that is gravy really.

So with that and a little math I decided that leaving the IT world was something that I had to do. I landed a job in a bike shop selling and wrenching and I have to say I wish I would have done this years ago. What better job to have than one that supports your passion. I make a fraction of the money but it’s pretty amazing what you can do with just a few life hacks. I am now a lunch and coffee packer. I decided to commute on the bike rain or shine or minus freakin’ thirty! You know? Trimming the fat of life and getting rid of any extraneous stuff. Simplify I guess is the operative word.

Simplifying my life has been the best thing I have done. If  you’re not happy doing what you’re doing then change it. If your mortgage is too high to do that – sell your house. It’s just a house, you can find another one. Life’s too short…

 

Actions

Information

One response

4 11 2011
Kimberley

Yea, I agree. I went throught the same thing a few years ago but I found the lack of money was a downer. Always having to watch every cent is a drag and not even being able to go out for lunch with a gf with out have heart palpataions sucks. I love my house on the water so I don’t mind working to keep it. I did try for a long time and was finally successful in finding an ok paying job 10 minutes from my home. Now I feel like the luckyist girl in the world. You are right, we don’t need much to live and friends and some one to share your life with makes it all the better.

Leave a Reply

